Montreal, Here I Come, Really…

Look, I live in Aspen, which is really a very small town. If you don't believe me, look at the line at the airport for my trip to Montreal. This was taken exactly one hour before my plane took off…

barry_in_aspen_airport.jpg

 

I take Dramamine before I fly. It gives things a certain perspective, which I find preferable to puking. I wish I could blame the Dramamine for this next picture, but I think there really is no excuse. I know better than to take pictures from the window of an airplane. Of course, there are great pictures taken from airplanes, but none of them from the windows of commercial. They look great and inspirational from your seat, with or without motion-sickness medication. But ultimately, they look like this…

aerial.jpg

And, in case you forgot what an actual airport looks like, here's what Chicago O'Hare looks like while the Dramamine is still kicking…

chicago_airport_walkway1.jpg

And once it wears off…

chicago_airport.jpg

This is where I slept, from 1 a.m. until 5 a.m. There were no people there at the time. I found a nice place to stretch out, got my pillow set up, because at some point you have to just accept that travelling with a pillow is actually crucial, put a plastic grocery bag over my eyes to blot out the fluorescent lights, put my bag under my knees and thought, hey, this is actually quite comfortable. I can do this. I'm actually drifting off to sleep here!

Then…

"ATTENTION PASSENGERS! DUE TO INCREASED SECURITY, AND TO COMPLY WITH FAA REGULATIONS, DO NOT LEAVE BAGGAGE UNATTENDED…"

Apparently they don't bother to turn these shrill announcements off just because there are no actually flights leaving the airport for the next 5 hours. I think I was right under a speaker. So every 20 minutes I got the baggage announcement, followed closely by the no smoking announcement. So, REM time was no longer an option…

I woke to the sound of the people at the Starbucks kiosk starting their shift. Milk foamers are really quite loud.

There was an uneventful plan and taxi ride, and now I'm in Montreal, crashing on the couch of someone who the Fringe office hooked me up with. They have invited a total stranger to come into their home for 2 weeks. Very cool. Here's where I'll be staying…green couch on the right…

couch.jpg

One response to “Montreal, Here I Come, Really…

Leave a Reply

