Tip of My Tongue…

Maybe it’s my change in diet (my mayonnaise intake is off the charts lately), but for the past week I’ve been having a hard time finding the right words when speaking. And not complex or fancy words, either. Simple words. Everyday words. Sometimes this search leaves me standing silently, mid-sentence, for long and awkward seconds.

I keep a notepad and pen by my bed, opened to a blank page. I write things down during the night, things that are generally nonsensical, incomprehenshble or illegible. Sometimes I wake up and look at the notebook and don’t remember writing what I see there on the page.

This morning I woke up and saw that I’d written this:

corn.jpeg
“If you’re stuck for a word, it better be good. Not ‘corn’.”

I think what I meant was this – if you are going to make people stare uncomfortably at their shoes while you make a big deal about not knowing what that darned elusive word is, it had better be a doozy when you finally find it. Like “opprobrium.” Or “ptomaine.” Or “aphasia.”

Not “corn.”

One response to “Tip of My Tongue…

Leave a Reply

