Trip To Mississippi, Part 1

OK, so this trip has already happened, but I didn’t have time to write about it as it happened, so here’s the multi-part-after-the-fact blow-by-blow of my trip – now with EXTRA HYPHENS! – to the Deep, Deep South for Thanksgiving.

A big part of this trip was taking my wife, Christina, to my former homeland of the Mississippi Delta. I was born in Greenville, MS, and spent the first 14 years of my life living there, Shelby, MS, and West Helena, Arkansas. The deep, deep south, as I said. Christina has lived in New York, New Jersey, Los Angeles and Aspen. So for some reason it seemed important to me that she eat some “authentic” southern cuisine. You know, so she could literally get the flavor of the place. And because I like making people do things.

So…

We drove from Aspen to Denver to crash overnight so we could easily make our 10 a.m. flight. We are currently doing the Artist’s Way program, so we made time to do our daily “Morning Pages” at a coffee shop in the Denver airport.

 morning_pages.jpg

I asked the person sitting next to us (who was obviously curious as to why two people were busy scribbling, by hand, no less, at such an hour) to take our picture. He did. I said to his daughter, “Nothing weird about that, right? Just taking a picture of people writing.” She didn’t seem convinced.

We landed in Memphis, rented a car, and quickly made our way to Cozy Corner, the place which supposedly has some mighty fine BBQ.

 cozy_corner.jpg

And it did. Here it is – the 6-piece rib dinner, on a paper plate, served with slices of white bread, beans, slaw and  tea so sweet it would give a hummingbird a heart attack.

 

christina_ribs.jpg

Christina is tentative, thinking that maybe just eating the baked beans would be safe. It wasn’t. Not for her, anyway. They were spicy. Lord have mercy.

I, on the other hand, proceeded to eat like a condemned man. Yes, I have sauce all over my lips. And, no, I didn’t do that for some sort of comedy effect. I’m a lapsed vegetarian, so I’m trying to make up for a lot of wasted years.

barry_rib_lips.jpg

Here’s a totally unnecessary picture of the resulting carnage.

 

rib_carnage.jpg

 This was early in the trip, when I had planned to take a picture of every single meal we ate. This strict program fizzled out after about a day and a half, so don’t worry…there won’t be any more shots like that last one. Though I do have a riveting shot of a bowl of grits that I’ll be posting soon! How’s that for a cliffhanger?

(To Be Continued…)

Leave a Reply

