Best Birthday Ever…

My birthday was a few days ago, and I rode around town and took some pictures. Not on purpose or anything, sometimes it just happens that way. For example – see this building?

snow-building.jpg

Well, I’m no psychic, but something tells me that during the winter months, snow may occasionally fall from this building. Just a hunch.

snow-signs.jpg

Since I live in a small town, I like to sit at Zele, the corner café, and stare at the scenery and say hello (or whatever) to people I know as they come and go. Check out the view from where I sat on my birthday:

aspen-from-zele.jpg

Amazing, right? Really, I’m constantly amazed, even after living here for 15 years, at how beautiful Aspen is. This scene was marred only by the sight of this piece of shit bicycle…

pos-bike.jpg

…which, in all fairness, is mine.

I talked my friends into taking me to lunch, because it was my birthday. And they did. Here we all are, at that lunch. I made everyone put on their sunglasses because I thought it might be cool or funny or something. I was wrong on all counts, except for the “or something.” But still…here we are…

hick-house-glasses.jpg

But the REALLY amazing thing that happened was this: There were three of us dining, and when the bill came I ignored it, just as I’d promised I would. I did, however, catch a glimpse of the total as they were throwing down their hard-earned cash next to it. When I saw it, I let out an involuntary and embarrassing squeal.

33-33-recpt.jpg

I mean, come on! Look at that! I nearly peed! There were three of us, and the total was $33.33!

It’s cool enough on its own, but then when you consider that it comes out to $11.11 per person…?! Holy shit! I asked the waiter if I could keep the receipt, or, if not, could I get a copy, and I was noticeably excited as I did so. A little TOO excited for a guy who only wants a receipt, if you know what I mean. But telling him why I wanted it would have only made things worse. I know that. And because I know that, I’m led to believe that I’ll be OK at some point.

And yes, one of the Arnold Palmer’s was mine. Pointless detail, really…

Oh, and do you know why it took me two days to post this entry? Because I had to scan the receipt, and my scanner was still in my van from my Fresno trip, which I completed over a week ago. Yep, I travel with my scanner. Last call for the Goober Express! All aboooooard….

4 responses to “Best Birthday Ever…

  1. Happy belated birthday! I would have commented on the post below… but I thought I’d live dangerously. You’re right… you do live in a purty place. Cheers!

  2. LMAO!!!! Ok… so I love your writing because I can actually hear your voice speak what you write!

    $33.33 is the coolest! 🙂 Awesome for your birthday!

Leave a Reply

