Toilet Sign Therapy

Last night’s “American Squatter” show, the third of six, the halfway point, was pretty mediocre.

Small house, and not a lot of laughter critical mass. I felt like it was a bit of an uphill battle. Earlier in the week I was joking that if I ever played my skateboarding clip – a quick compilation of me really sucking on a skateboard back in the 80s – and people DIDN’T laugh, that I was going to just announce that that’s it, show’s over, that’s as good as it’s going to get, out with you all.

You joke about these things because you think they’ll never, ever happen. Well, last night it pretty much did. So who’s laughing now, punk!? Well…nobody, actually…

It wasn’t a bad show, and it’s not like there was no audience response, you just set expectations. I was all geared up for the best show ever, and, well… I hope it wasn’t.

Maybe I’m just too hard on myself. Maybe I need to cheer myself up a bit. And what better way to do that than…..toilet signs!!

OK, here’s the sign in the toilet of the dressing room of the Geordie Space, where I’m doing my show:

I especially like this next part, which is why I took a close up.

Don’t you dare flush, but if you do, well, you may as well commit…

And – pasted right above it, right over the back of the toilet – it’s translated into French!

Everything’s gonna be OK after all…

2 responses to “Toilet Sign Therapy

  1. LMAO!!!! Ah yes what would the world be coming to if there wasn’t a translation in French?!?

    Sorry about the not so hot audience… it will get better… I’m sending you my positive thinking! 😉

  2. That’s funny! Just last week, I was at our community’s “little theatre” which is “in the round.” Though that design isn’t really relevant to my story, I went to the bathroom and they have the sound from the show piped into the bathroom! When i went to flush, I was hoping the “piping” only went one way, so to speak. It sure seemed strange from the bathroom. Sounded like I was part of the show!

Leave a Reply

