Day 80 – Farewell to the Peg

One of the highlights of the Winnipeg Fringe for me was Dr. Calagari’s Cabaret of Lies. This was a late-night (Saturday midnight) variety show put on by about 15 different Fringe performers. It was organized by Jem Rolls and TJ Dawe, both Fringe veterans. They did a great job of putting together a show amidst chaos.

A venue was found – upstairs at the King’s Head Pub – and tickets were made. The show sold out within 15 minutes, with about 150 tickets flying out the door.

cabaret-chaos-2.jpg

Penny Ashton (Hot Pink Bits), Michelle Todd (Deep Fried Curried Perogies),
TJ Dawe (Maxim and Cosmo)and Jem Rolls (Jem Rolls Up), pre-cabaret…

barry-tj-jem.jpg

Me, TJ, Jem, with just a hint of the top of Keir Cutler’s head…

The show was lit by flashlight. I bought 20 of them, along with batteries, and we handed them out to the audience with instructions to point them at whatever was happening at the time. Here is the crowd, still in line outside the venue, happily pairing flashlights with batteries. You could not have asked for a better crowd, and not just for their mechanical skills.

cabaret-of-lies-finale.jpg

The big finale, everyone on stage…

fugitives-01.jpg

…including the Fugitives, a band from Vancouver who were doing a show called “The New Art of Poetry Clubbing.” They were so very good, and provided the closing song for everyone to riff on.

bank-of-canada.jpg

I’m in Canada. Here’s proof.

barry-and-nile.jpg

I know Nile. Here’s proof.

barry-barbara.jpg

I know Barbara Adler from the Fugitives. Here’s proof.

do-not-open.jpg

Birds flying over and yelling “No” at you is the best way to keep you from opening something dangerous. Here’s proof.

giant-invisible-keir-2.jpg

Keir Cutler REALLY wants to cameo in Jayson McDonald’s amazing solo show, “Giant Invisible Robot.” He wants to be the robot. Here’s proof.

giant-invisible-keir.jpg

And more proof….

stupid-sold-out.jpg

I can pose in really stupid ways. Here’s proof.

jem-moth.jpg

Jem attracts moths. Here’s proof.

winnipeg-manhole1.jpg

When I tell a group of people to put their heads together and look at the ground, they obey me. Here’s proof.

winnipeg-closing-pic-of-pic.jpg

Lots of pictures to be taken on the last night at the King’s Head.

jennys-and-dishpig.jpg

I won a Jenny Award. So did Keir. Greg Landucci (Dishpig) didn’t. You may remember Greg from Orlando, where he won the “Best of Venue” award instead of me. Well, now we’re even. Or tied, depending on how you want to look at it.

happy-donkeys.jpg

Our Jenny Awards being looked after…

Winnipeg was everything I was told it would be – an amazing festival with dream audiences. People there really turn out for the Fringe, and the performers are loved and appreciated. I’m already excited about going back next year.

Next stop, Saskatoon…

 

 

4 responses to “Day 80 – Farewell to the Peg

  1. I read this. Here’s proof.

    (Congratulations on the Jenny! Is she a little donkey? I’m assuming Jenny is a “she”, even though I guess I’d need more proof. Which you have.)

  2. hahahahahaha…. NILE!!!!!!!!!!!!! I Love Nile!!! yay!!! I might have to steal that pic because you are two of my favorite people in the world! 🙂

    Congrats on the great festival! That’s Totally Awesome! 😉

  3. i forgot you had a picture of me……

    i am still holding keir’s jenny hostage…. i have proof just not in picture form!

    missing you!

Leave a Reply

