Day 83 – One Last Winnipeg Wrap-up

While I was walking down the street on my second day in Winnipeg, I saw this poster.

zappa-poster-ws.jpg

Well, OK, that’s a lot of posters. But I looked closely and saw this –

zappa-poster-cu.jpg

This is Frank Zappa’s son Dweezil playing the music of his father, and playing it quite well, by all accounts. This show was in Montreal a little bit before me, and in Toronto a little bit after me, so I was assuming that it would be in some city at the same time as me. And I was right. That city was Winnipeg. And the venue was, literally, across the street from the place I’d be performing Jesus In Montana.

zappa-marquee.jpg

Look, I’m standing on the corner of Market and Main, looking towards where Dweezil will play…

zappa-venue-ws.jpg

then I turned around and took a pic of where I’ll be playing. Across the street. In case you didn’t believe me.

jesus-venue-ws.jpg

The only thing was – the Zappa show happened on my opening night, at exactly the same time! No way I could make it. None at all.

I suppose it would help if you knew what a huge Zappa fan I am. Well then – I’m a huge Zappa fan. Now you know.

But I figured that if you have to miss a show, the coolest way to miss it is if you’re doing your own show. Right? Right!? Thanks. I feel better.

Later that night, after my show, I went to the beer tend and walked past these guys.

zappa-shirts.jpg

Obviously they weren’t standing like this when I walked past them, but I did notice their shirts, asked them if they were at the gig. Duh. I then made them give me a note-for-note rundown of the show, which they were still very excited about. I missed a good one, it seems.

But then again, Dweezil missed seeing my show, so I feel kinda bad for him, too…

One response to “Day 83 – One Last Winnipeg Wrap-up

Leave a Reply

