Canada – What’s So Funny…?

So, last year I spent 4 months driving across Canada, performing my shows (see below.) It was great (see below.) And in 2008 I’ll be doing the exact same thing, only different shows, sorta. See, I won the Canadian Association of Fringe Festival (CAFF) touring lottery, meaning, basically, that I get to tour Canada again with my shows.

But when I tell people this, as a response to the generic “what’s going on” question, they just kinda chuckle.

“They sure love you in Canada, huh? Ha ha…”

Kind of a verbal pat on the head of something that’s cute. Canada? Awww…that’s adorable…

Right after I got back from my tour, and actually told someone about the tour I’d just done, they said, “Canada? Well, I guess that’s a good place to start, right?”

The implication is that Canada is not actually a real place. I understand why Americans think this, being an American myself, but I think I’m going to stop telling people about my tour, past and future. The verbal head-pat is getting tiresome, and I don’t have the energy to be the ambassador that Canada deserves.

So…

Q: Hi Barry, what are you up to?

A: Why don’t you just leave me the fuck alone, you condescending motherfucker?

…or maybe a nicer, more Canadian version of that…

2 responses to “Canada – What’s So Funny…?

  1. hi Barry,
    I just saw your show this evening here in Fresno in the Tower district. I see you tour in Canada often. I am a Canadian, from Montreal and I now live here in Fresno. But hopefully will be moving out of here soon, as I hate this place too much.
    Anyhow, I want to say thank you for the funny show you put on – “American squatter”. It reminded me of my era of soul-searching and being lost somewhere in Asia for about a year. Miss those times dearly.
    well, I will be looking out for your shows in the future. Looks like you’re a pretty funny guy:)
    great job!
    Manuela.

Leave a Reply

