Childhood Number 2 Trauma

Yes, I had an unfortunate incident involving “Number 2” when I was a child. But I mean literally. As in the numeral 2, the natural number between 1 and 3.

It was in the days of Big Chief Tablets and tree trunk sized pencils, at a time when you had to write words, letters and numbers over and over again. I remember we were doing numbers. I started experimenting with the curly-q potential of the 2, and took it to its logical extreme.

number 2.jpg

(recreation)

My first grade teacher was not pleased with my attempts to stylize the 2. In fact, she gave me my paper back with a big red X through my final and the word “WRONG” written above it in equally red ink.

In looking back at my life, especially my employment history, I apparently made some big decisions that day. Specifically that creativity in the workplace is frowned upon, that individuality is discouraged, and that, despite my thoughts to the contrary, my number 2 stinks.

2 responses to “Childhood Number 2 Trauma

  1. i totally did that with my 2-s. and my lower case t-s. and the top curl of capital C-s…

    school tries to murder creativity. but sometimes, it triumphs anyways.

  2. In looking back at my life, especially my employment history, I apparently made some big decisions that day. Specifically that creativity in the workplace is frowned upon, that individuality is discouraged, and that, despite my thoughts to the contrary, my number 2 stinks.

Leave a Reply

