Scanning Stuff

I’m sorta always scanning stuff – pictures and whatnot. But I think I may have completed the majority of it just a few days ago. This project has been ongoing since 2006. I felt like I was one big push away from having the majority of it done, and so it was.

scanned stuff 1.jpg
scanned stuff3.jpg

Here (above) is my makeshift workstation – folding tables, scanner, laptop and pictures strewn about…

scanned stuff4.jpg

And, just to maximize the confusion, I like to spread the joy into my usual writing desk.

…..

During an earlier scan marathon, back in 2008, I put some pics in a manilla envelope and labeled it thusly –>

envelope.jpg

“Maybe scanned? Double check” OK, so my filing system isn’t the best, but I’m thoughtful, and I have a Sharpie. When I came across this envelope the other day I was thinking that these pics HAD been scanned all those years ago, and that I was just being paranoid. But I opened it up to double check, because I feel it’s good to heed notes to yourself from the past, and there was a big old wad of my history that nearly escaped digitization. One of my faves being this Polaroid —>

polaroid.jpg

This is taken with a Hipstamatic, so even though it’s old, it looks even older! Man, I know how to have a good time…

…..

Here’s the result of my years of scanning – all stacked in boxes, semi-organized. Well, at least organized under the category of “already scanned, no need to scan again.” Which is key. Next I need to put these pics in some nice protective, archival, acid-free sleeves and into albums. But that’s years away.

scanned stuff 2.jpg

Oh, and another good find from this scanning session – I still have my “Wacky Packages” stickers from the late 70s. This is one that I still remember well from that era, and it was nice to rediscover it. I just love the look on the dog’s face. Now you can love it, too. Go on, love it. Love it!

milk foam sticker.jpg

One response to “Scanning Stuff

  1. Man, Wacky Packs take me back to… well, one minute ago when I remembered how cool they were! I am officially loving me some Milk Foam. Makes any dog look rabid!

Leave a Reply

