The Disney Point

If you live in Orlando, chances are you know the Disney Point. But I don’t, so I didn’t, but now I do. Here is the Disney Point as demonstrated by Disney employee Rob O’Brien, who is directing the Fringe show “St. Kristie.”

First of all, you have to know what the Disney Point is NOT. Here Rob demonstrates:

disney-point-1.jpg

This is the way a normal, non-Disney person would point, right? Well, an American one, anyway. Index finger extended to make it clear exactly what you are pointing to or at. But apparently in some countries and cultures this gesture is considered offensive, and since Disney attracts visitors from across the globe, well, you don’t want to insult someone while merely trying to show them where the toilet is, right? So…

disney-point-2.jpg

The Disney Point. Using two fingers. Perhaps a bit less precise, but universally non-offensive. Ahhhh…

disney-point-3.jpg

Another version of the Disney Point. An open hand; warm, inviting, instructive, non-threatening. This way, please…

4 responses to “The Disney Point

  1. oh my this brings back memories . . . LoL . . . I just try to explain to a friend about it and actually basically just pasted this url LoL

    THANKS

  2. I have to say, every time I come to barrysmith.wordpress.com you have another fascinating article to read. One of my friends was talking to me about this topic several weeks ago, so I think I will send them the link here and see what they say.

Leave a comment